Thursday, June 20, 2024
    HomeTelanganaCounting of Votes Commences for MLC Election in Hyderabad-Mahbubnagar-Ranga Reddy-RR Teacher's Constituency

    Counting of Votes Commences for MLC Election in Hyderabad-Mahbubnagar-Ranga Reddy-RR Teacher’s Constituency

    Related stories

    19 IAS officers shuffled by the Andhra Pradesh Government

    The 19 IAS officers were transferred and allotted postings with immediate effect

    DM HO organizes a rally for National De-Warming Day

    In Gadwal, District Medical and Health Officer Dr. Sasikala...

    Collector urged to enhance seats in KG BV schools for poor people

    In Jogulamba Gadwal district, the Kasturba Gandhi Balika Vidyalaya...

    MLA clarifies reasons for his party’s decision to change

    Gadwal MLA Bandla Krishnamohan Reddy recently spoke out about...

    The counting process for the Mahabubnagar-Rangareddy-Hyderabad Teacher’s council seat has begun and is expected to be completed by evening. The counting is taking place at the Saroornagar indoor stadium, where 28 tables have been arranged for counting. Each table will have one supervisor and observer, and the counting staff are arranging each bundle with 100 votes. However, the counting process was delayed by 25 minutes from its scheduled start time of 8 am.

    The election held on March 13 had 21 candidates in the fray, and a total of 29,720 teachers were registered voters. The results are expected to come by evening. Due to the large number of candidates, the result may take more time. To maintain law and order, police have imposed section 144 in the premises.

    - Advertisement -
    Also read:  MLA's Potential Move to Congress Shakes Up Gadwal Politics

    The first preferential votes will be taken into consideration during the counting process. If any candidate gets more than 50% first preferential votes, they would be declared the winner. If no candidate gets over 50% votes, the second preferential votes would be counted.

    The ruling BRS party did not contest the election and supported G Chenna Keshav Reddy, who is also backed by the Progressive Recognised Teachers Union-TS (PRTU-TS). The BJP has declared support to A Venkata Narayan Reddy, while the Congress has extended support to Gali Harshavardhan Reddy. Janardhan Reddy, who won the teacher’s constituency in 2017, is retiring and is contesting as a rebel candidate from PRTUTS as Independent. Manik Reddy is also in the fray as an independent with the support of United Teachers’ Federation.

    Also read:  Chugh and Bandi talk strategies to strengthen BJP in Telangana
    - Advertisement -
    Rajesh M
    Rajesh M
    Latest News from Hyderabad, Telangana, India & World!

    Follow us


    Contribute News

    You can contribute an article to Telangana Tribune by dropping a mail at

    Latest stories


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here