Thursday, May 23, 2024
    HomeTelanganaReddys and Velamas Face Off in Karimnagar

    Reddys and Velamas Face Off in Karimnagar

    Related stories

    Vote counting for LS election in Khammam: All arrangements set

    The counting of Lok Sabha votes will take place...

    Javeed predicts Mallanna will win by a large margin in MLC by-election

    Khammam City Congress president Mohammad Javed expressed confidence that...

    Leader of BRS accuses Congress of breaking manifesto promises

    BRS leader R Sridhar Reddy criticized the Congress government...

    KTR says Congress policies are making farmers cry

    BRS working president KT Rama Rao recently spoke out...

    The political landscape of Karimnagar Parliamentary constituency has been historically dominated by caste dynamics, with 8 out of 12 winners belonging to the Velama caste. The Congress party has often given the MP ticket to a Velamala candidate, with Ponnam Prabhakar achieving victory in 2009 as a BC candidate.

    Three leaders from this constituency have achieved a hat-trick of wins, with two serving as Union Ministers. M Satyanarayana Rao, Juvvadi Chokka Rao, and former Chief Minister KCR have all won three times in a row. Former Maharashtra Governor Chenna Maneni Vidyasagar Rao and KCR have also served as Union Ministers.

    - Advertisement -

    Since 1952, Karimnagar parliamentary constituency has been a general seat. The first MP was elected in that year, with subsequent winners coming from various backgrounds like Baddam Ellareddy Reddy, R Krishna, and J Ramapati Rao. Marri Chenna Reddy was defeated in 1984 by Congress candidate Juvvadi Chokkarao.

    Also read:  New industrial policy aims to propel TG onto the global stage

    From 1957 to 1991, Congress candidates won nine times in a row, with a break in their winning streak only in 2009. Boinapally Vinod Kumar set a record for the largest majority in the history of Karimnagar Parliament in the 2014 elections. Bandi Sanjay won over Vinod Kumar in the 2019 elections, breaking the Velama stronghold.

    - Advertisement -

    The selection of main candidates for the upcoming Parliament elections is underway, taking into account the social class aspect. The CM has shown keen interest in this key seat, with Bandi Sanjay from BJP and Boinapally Vinod Kumar from BRS currently in contest. Rajender Rao and Praveen Reddy are hoping for a Congress ticket from Karimnagar. The Reddy and Velama communities are eagerly awaiting to see who will win the seat.

    Also read:  Students are encouraged by SP to establish goals and work towards achieving them
    - Advertisement -
    Rajesh M
    Rajesh M
    Latest News from Hyderabad, Telangana, India & World!

    Follow us


    Contribute News

    You can contribute an article to Telangana Tribune by dropping a mail at

    Latest stories


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here