Friday, June 14, 2024
    HomeTelanganaAIMIM maintains unbeatable position in Charminar Constituency

    AIMIM maintains unbeatable position in Charminar Constituency

    Related stories

    Sarita, ZP Chairperson, conducts review of electricity supply.

    In Gadwal, ZP Chairperson Saritha and Municipal Chairman B.S....

    Congress to prioritize local body elections

    Minister Konda Surekha and MP Kadiyam Kavya met with...

    Leader of the BRS calls on government to enforce Rythu Bharosa

    State Agriculture Minister Singireddy Niranjan Reddy is demanding that...

    Politics is heating up in the Charminar constituency ahead of the upcoming Assembly polls. The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) party has held the Charminar seat for 12 terms in a row. The Congress is also making a comeback, with two party candidates applying for an assembly ticket from Charminar.

    The MIM party is strong in the constituency, with no other party coming close to its popularity in the Old City. Some party corporators and a senior leader have shown interest in contesting, but Mumtaz Ahmed Khan is expected to continue as the contender.

    - Advertisement -

    The MIM has been representing the constituency for the past 57 years, starting with Sultan Salahuddin Owaisi in 1967. Asaduddin Owaisi, the current MIM chief, won the seat in 1994 and 1999. Mumtaz Ahmed Khan won the seat in 2018 and is likely to continue in the upcoming polls.

    Also read:  It is illegal for children under 14 to work

    In the last term of the Assembly elections, Mumtaz Ahmed Khan won with 53,808 votes. The BJP’s Uma Mahender came second with 21,222 votes, and the INC candidate Mohd Ghouse received 16,899 votes.

    - Advertisement -

    There were speculations that Nooruddin Owaisi, son of Akbaruddin Owaisi, might enter politics and become the new candidate from the segment. However, Akbaruddin denied these rumors.

    The BJP is likely to name Uma Mahender as their candidate, while TDP might choose Ibrahim Bin Ali Masqati. The BRS contender Ibrahim Lodhi is planning to contest against the MIM party.

    - Advertisement -

    Overall, the MIM party remains strong in Charminar, and no other party has been able to challenge their dominance in terms of votes. The upcoming Assembly polls will be an interesting contest for the constituency.

    Also read:  Government considering farm loan waiver based on recipients' income
    - Advertisement -
    Rajesh M
    Rajesh M
    Latest News from Hyderabad, Telangana, India & World!

    Follow us


    Contribute News

    You can contribute an article to Telangana Tribune by dropping a mail at

    Latest stories


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here