Sunday, September 24, 2023
    HomeNationalBJP Reveals List of Candidates for Parliamentary and Assembly Bypolls in Punjab...

    BJP Reveals List of Candidates for Parliamentary and Assembly Bypolls in Punjab and Odisha

    Related stories

    Adani Office and Residence in Ahmedabad Welcomed by Sharad Pawar

    Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) supremo Sharad Pawar, who had raised eyebrows when he met embattled billionaire Gautam Adani amidst demands by Opposition parties for a Joint Parliamentary Committee (JPC) probe into allegations levelled by US short seller Hindenburg, on Saturday visited the industrialist's office and residence in Ahmedabad.

    Kovind committee progresses further with One Nation One Election initiative

    Taking the issue of one nation one election forward, the high level committee headed by former President Ramnath Kovind held its first meeting on Saturday.
    - Advertisement -

    The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has announced their candidates for upcoming by-elections in Punjab and Odisha. The by-elections will occur on May 10th for the Lok Sabha district of Jalandhar in Punjab and the Assembly district of Jharsuguda in Odisha. Results will be announced on May 13th, which is the same day as the Assembly elections in Karnataka.

    Sardar Indar Iqbal Singh Atwal has been nominated by the BJP for the Jalandhar by-election and Tankadhar Tripathy has been nominated for the Jharsuguda by-election. The names were announced on Wednesday night by the party’s Central Election Committee.

    - Advertisement -

    The Jalandhar Lok Sabha seat became vacant after Congressman Santokh Chaudhary passed away in January due to a heart attack. Byelections needed to be held for the seat. Tankadhar Tripathy will face Dipali Das of the BJD and Tarun Pandey of the Congress in the race for the Jalandhar by-elections, which has been declared for Karamjit Kaur Chaudhary, Santokh Chaudhary’s wife.

    The party announced that Karamjit Kaur Chaudhary has been approved by Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge to run in the next by-election to the Lok Parliament from the Punjabi 4-Jalandhar-SC parliamentary district.

    - Advertisement -
    Rajesh M
    Rajesh M
    Latest News from Hyderabad, Telangana, India & World!

    Follow us


    Contribute News

    You can contribute an article to Telangana Tribune by dropping a mail at

    Latest stories


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here