Friday, May 24, 2024
    HomeTelanganaCongress eager to win back Khammam from BRS

    Congress eager to win back Khammam from BRS

    Related stories

    BRS leader in Kollapur killed in suspected act of political revenge

    In Mahbubnagar, political killings have become a common occurrence...

    Javeed predicts Mallanna will win by a large margin in MLC by-election

    Khammam City Congress president Mohammad Javed expressed confidence that...

    Leader of BRS accuses Congress of breaking manifesto promises

    BRS leader R Sridhar Reddy criticized the Congress government...

    Congress, which won all six segments in the recent assembly elections, is now focusing on winning the Khammam Parliament seats. Out of the seven assembly seats under the Khammam MP segment, Congress won six seats and the Congress-backed CPI candidate won with a large majority.

    The Congress has won 11 times from the Khammam LS seat twice. CPM has won twice, while other parties like People’s Democratic Front, Telugu Desam Party (TDP), YCP, and BRS candidates have only won once. BJP, relying on Modi’s popularity and the Ayodhya Ram temple issue, lacks strong support in the area.

    - Advertisement -

    In the combined seven segments, Congress received 2.63 lakh more votes than BRS. Many hopefuls are vying for the Congress ticket, believing that it guarantees their victory. Renuka Chaudhary is out of the race due to her RS nomination, leaving contenders like Prasad Reddy, Nandini, and Rajendra Prasad in the running.

    Also read:  Harish Rao denounces purported assault on BRS mayor and corporators

    BRS won the 2019 elections in Khammam, with Nama Nageswara Rao potentially running again for the pink party. BJP is also making efforts to win the seat, with Tandra Vinod Rao and G Venkateswarlu among those competing for the party’s ticket.

    - Advertisement -

    CPI and Congress were allies in the last election and will continue to work together in the upcoming Parliament elections. CPM, who ran separately in the assembly elections, may join forces with Congress through the INDIA alliance. Tammineni Veerabhadram, the current state secretary of CPM, previously won the Khammam MP seat.

    - Advertisement -
    Rajesh M
    Rajesh M
    Latest News from Hyderabad, Telangana, India & World!

    Follow us


    Contribute News

    You can contribute an article to Telangana Tribune by dropping a mail at

    Latest stories


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here