Tuesday, June 18, 2024
    HomeHyderabadMIM poised to maintain Bahadurpura constituency as it faces no Opposition challenges

    MIM poised to maintain Bahadurpura constituency as it faces no Opposition challenges

    Related stories

    MLA’s Potential Move to Congress Shakes Up Gadwal Politics

    The recent political developments in Gadwal, particularly involving MLA...

    Pawan Kalyan to assume charge on June 19 after meeting with Chandrababu Naidu at AP secretariat

    Deputy Chief Minister Pawan Kalyan met Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu at the State Secretariat on June 18, 2024 for the first time after the formation of the coalition Government.

    Congress accuses BJP of plotting riots in Hyderabad

    Former minister Pushpa Leela claimed that the BJP is...

    The Bahadurpura constituency in Hyderabad has been a stronghold of the AIMIM party. The BJP and Congress, who are in opposition, have not put forward strong candidates to challenge the AIMIM. Voters are skeptical about the opposition contenders who lack experience in big-time politics. Since the constituency was formed, Mohammed Moazam Khan from the AIMIM has won the seat with a majority of 82,000 votes. The AIMIM party is confident about retaining this seat without much effort, unlike other constituencies.

    According to political analysts, if Moazam is fielded again, it will be his fifth win in polls from Bahadurpura. In the past four terms, a dozen candidates from major parties have failed to defeat the AIMIM. The battle for this seat is likely to be in the hands of the AIMIM, even though the BJP and Congress have not announced their candidates.

    - Advertisement -
    Also read:  Jitesh V, Collector, meets District Chief Justice Patil Vasanth

    With over 80% of the population belonging to the minority community, the AIMIM has dominated the Bahadurpura constituency in the Old City. No other party has even stood second in polls, and all nominees lost their deposit when the constituency was created. Since 2004, Moazam Khan has been successfully holding onto the seat.

    Khan started his political career by defeating Congress MLA Danam Nagender in Asifnagar. He became an MLA for the first time in 2004 and has been winning from Bahadurpura since then. In the 2018 elections, he won with a record majority of 82,518 votes.

    - Advertisement -

    The BRS party has announced its candidate Mir Inayath Ali Baqri, a former chairman of SETWIN, who has previously contested from Charminar and Bahadurpura. The MIM and BRS share a friendly fight in this constituency.

    Also read:  Man scales electricity tower following dispute with spouse

    The BJP is likely to field Haneef Ali, a member of the Central Wakf Council, as its candidate. He believes that urgent attention is needed for issues such as unemployment, development, and education. The BJP aims to bring development without discrimination, but some individuals are trying to disrupt the process.

    - Advertisement -

    Bahadurpura is one of the 15 constituencies under the Hyderabad Lok Sabha constituency. It is named after Sarwar Ul Mulk Bahadurpura, a political advisor and master of Salar Jung I, who is considered one of the greatest Prime Ministers of the erstwhile Hyderabad State.

    - Advertisement -

    Follow us


    Contribute News

    You can contribute an article to Telangana Tribune by dropping a mail at newsdesk@telanganatribune.com

    Latest stories


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here