Thursday, June 13, 2024
    HomeHyderabadOpposition Struggles to Break Free from MIM Influence in Yakutpura Constituency

    Opposition Struggles to Break Free from MIM Influence in Yakutpura Constituency

    Related stories

    YSRCP calls for President’s intervention to address violence by TDP and Jana Sena members in Andhra Pradesh

    YSRCP leader Vijayasai Reddy, in his letter to President Droupadi Murmu, pointed out 27 major incidents of violence against YSRCP supporters.

    Pawan Kalyan, actor and cult figure, defies stereotypes to become Deputy Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh

    Pawan Kalyan made his acting debut in 1996 with ‘Akkada Ammayi Ikkada Abbayi’, followed by ‘Gokulamlo Seeta’ and ‘Tholi Prema’ in 1999. The film directed by A. Karunakaran won the National award and six Nandi awards that year.

    BRS MLA accuses Ponnam of being involved in Rs 100-crore fly ash scam

    Hyderabad: BRS MLA Padi Kaushik Reddy accused Minister Ponnam...

    The Yakutpura Assembly constituency in Hyderabad has been dominated by the AIMIM party since 1967. Mumtaz Ahmed Khan held the seat from 1994 until Syed Ahmed Pasha Quadri took over in 2018. The MIM party is expected to maintain its stronghold in the upcoming elections.

    The Yakutpura constituency has been a strong base for the MIM party for many years. In 2018, Pasha Quadri won with a majority of over 69,595 votes, while his opponents received significantly fewer votes. The MIM party is likely to continue its winning streak in this constituency.

    - Advertisement -

    The Congress party has little presence in Yakutpura, while the BJP’s Ch Roop Raj has consistently placed second or third in previous elections. The MBT party, which is a rival to the MIM, has secured the third position with 11% and 19% of the votes.

    Also read:  Traffic restrictions in place for distribution of fish medicine by the police

    Some local Muslim Congress leaders feel that their party is not putting up a strong enough fight against the dominant MIM party. In the 2014 elections, the BRS, Congress, and MIM contested separately, while the TDP and BJP formed an alliance. However, in 2018, the MIM supported the BRS party and did not contest in seats across the state.

    - Advertisement -

    The MBT party’s leader, Majeedullah Khan, has repeatedly alleged that there are many bogus votes in the constituency, but complaints to the Election Commission have not been properly addressed.

    Yakutpura is a part of Old City and gets its name from the Persian word for “Ruby.” The constituency has over 3.34 lakh voters.

    Also read:  Intense competition observed in Graduate MLC by-election for Nalgonda-Khammam-Warangal constituency
    - Advertisement -

    Follow us


    Contribute News

    You can contribute an article to Telangana Tribune by dropping a mail at

    Latest stories


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here