Monday, April 15, 2024
    HomeNationalTMC unveils list of 42 candidates for Lok Sabha elections

    TMC unveils list of 42 candidates for Lok Sabha elections

    Related stories

    Amjedullah Khan Set to Challenge Asaduddin Owaisi for Hyderabad Lok Sabha Seat

    Amjedullah Khan, spokesperson for the Majlis Bachao Tehreek (MBT),...

    Minority Votes Hold Key Role in Telangana Lok Sabha Elections

    The upcoming Lok Sabha elections in Telangana are set...

    BRS accuses Congress of disrespecting Ambedkar in Hyderabad

    BRS leaders in Hyderabad criticized the Congress party for...

    Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress (TMC) released the list of candidates for 42 West Bengal seats in the Lok Sabha elections of 2024. The TMC will contest elections on its own despite the INDIA alliance. Mamata Banerjee announced the candidates at Brigade Ground in Kolkata.

    Former cricketer Yusuf Pathan will compete from Baharampur Lok Sabha constituency, where he will face veteran Congress leader Adhir Ranjan Choudhary. Mahua Moitra will again represent TMC in the Krishnanagar Lok Sabha seat.

    - Advertisement -

    Abhishek Banerjee, Trinamool Congress National General Secretary and MP, revealed the list of candidates for 42 Lok Sabha seats. Shatrughan Sinha will be the TMC’s candidate from Asansol. The party plans to contest in West Bengal, Assam, and Meghalaya, with ongoing discussions for a single seat in UP with Akhilesh Yadav.

    Also read:  Komatireddy brothers set ambitious goal

    The announcement of TMC candidates came as a surprise to the ‘INDIA’ alliance, which includes Congress and Trinamool. The two parties failed to reach a consensus on a seat-sharing formula.

    - Advertisement -

    The list of candidates for the upcoming elections includes names like Jagdish C Basunia for Cooch Behar (SC), Prakash Chik Badaik for Alipurduar (ST), and Nirmal Chaudhary Roy for Jalpaiguri (SC), among others.

    Congress MP Jairam Ramesh expressed disappointment with TMC’s decision to field candidates for all 42 Lok Sabha seats in West Bengal. Congress has always advocated for a negotiated seat-sharing deal with TMC to strengthen the ‘INDIA’ alliance against the BJP.

    - Advertisement -

    Follow us


    Contribute News

    You can contribute an article to Telangana Tribune by dropping a mail at

    Latest stories


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here