Sunday, July 14, 2024
    HomeHyderabadAkbaruddin's Influence Remains Strong with Hyderabad Electorate

    Akbaruddin’s Influence Remains Strong with Hyderabad Electorate

    Related stories

    Science Museum scheduled to open by the end of July.

    DEO E Somashekhara Sharma and District Science Officer D...

    BJP Unveils 1,500-Day Strategy to Become Top in TG

    The 2024 Parliament election results have changed the perception...

    Bandi challenges Rahul to visit OU and speak with the unemployed

    BJP national general secretary Bandi Sanjay Kumar challenged Congress...

    Kishan Reddy believes people view BJP as a viable alternative to Congress

    The State BJP executive meeting in Hyderabad on Friday...

    The Chandrayangutta Assembly constituency in Hyderabad is known as the stronghold of Akbaruddin Owaisi, the leader of AIMIM. He has been representing the constituency for many years and has won the seat in the last five terms, including in 2018 with a large margin of 80,264 votes. The constituency includes several neighborhoods and is located in the Hyderabad district of Telangana State. It has a total of over 2.63 lakh voters.

    In the 2018 elections, Akbaruddin won with the highest majority of votes, defeating his closest rival from the BJP. The people of Chandrayangutta see him as their only leader and have consistently voted for him. Even the rival party MBT has been unsuccessful in defeating him since 1999.

    - Advertisement -
    Also read:  Dispute over protocol overshadows Yellamma's divine wedding

    The neighboring constituency Yakutpura also sees a fierce contest between MIM and MBT. Akbaruddin has had great dominance in both constituencies for the past five terms.

    Amanullah represented Chandrayangutta for five terms from 1987-1994, winning three times as an independent, once on a MIM ticket, and once as an MBT contestant in 1994. However, he lost to Akbaruddin in a close contest in 1999 and since then, Akbaruddin has retained the seat.

    - Advertisement -

    While MBT still fields its candidates for the seat, other parties like BJP, TDP, and INC have also contested in the past. However, none have managed to secure even the second position in the last four terms.

    Also read:  BJP Unveils 1,500-Day Strategy to Become Top in TG

    In the last two terms, Akbaruddin won with a large margin of votes. In the 2014 elections, he secured 59.19% of the votes with a margin of 59,294 votes. In the 2018 elections, he won with 67.95% of the votes and a majority of 80,264 votes.

    - Advertisement -

    In the upcoming election, it is expected that BJP, BRS, and INC will field familiar candidates who have posed a strong challenge in the previous campaigns. These parties have conducted extensive election campaigns and have gained a significant number of supporters and votes against the Majlis party.

    - Advertisement -

    Follow us


    Contribute News

    You can contribute an article to Telangana Tribune by dropping a mail at

    Latest stories


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here