Tuesday, May 21, 2024
    HomeTelanganaBRS suffers setback as multiple leaders from Maheshwaram defect to Congress

    BRS suffers setback as multiple leaders from Maheshwaram defect to Congress

    Related stories

    KTR accuses Cong government of hesitating on election pledges

    BRS working president K Tarakarama Rao criticized the Congress...

    T-Diagnostics nears the brink of shutting down

    Former Health minister T Harish Rao criticized the State...

    Kavitha’s detention extended until June 3 by the court

    BRS MLC K Kavitha's judicial remand has been extended...

    VH predicts a sweeping Congress wave across the nation

    Former MP V Hanumantha Rao believes that there is...

    In Rangareddy, a group of BRS leaders and councillors from the Maheshwaram constituency have left the party and joined the Congress. This move has caused a stir, especially for local MLA P Sabita Indra Reddy. The leaders who switched sides are mainly from Jalpally and Tukkuguda municipalities.

    The BRS leaders who joined the Congress include members from Jalpally such as Syed Yousuf Patel, Syed Mazhar, Saud Awalgi, Bashamma, Radhika Sharavan, and Pushpamma. Additionally, vice-chairman Bhavani Venkat Reddy and councillor Srikanth Goud from Tukkuguda, as well as ex-ZPTC Jillela Narender Reddy from Saroornagar, also made the move.

    - Advertisement -

    The defection of these leaders is seen as a setback for Sabita, who has always had strong support from Jalpally municipality. Despite the BRS losing in recent elections at the state level, Sabita managed to win consecutively from the Maheshwaram constituency.

    Also read:  Kishan criticizes corporator's arrest as 'unfair and undemocratic'

    There has been tension among minority BRS leaders regarding Sabita’s favoritism towards AIMIM leaders over her own party members in Jalpally. The municipality itself has a history of unlawful activities, with encroachments on government and Wakf land.

    - Advertisement -

    The Jalpally municipality, known for its high population density and illegal land activities, was established in 2016 by merging several areas. It has 28 wards with over 30,000 households, mainly comprising settlers from neighboring districts and northern states.

    - Advertisement -
    Rajesh M
    Rajesh Mhttps://www.telanganatribune.com
    Latest News from Hyderabad, Telangana, India & World!

    Follow us


    Contribute News

    You can contribute an article to Telangana Tribune by dropping a mail at newsdesk@telanganatribune.com

    Latest stories


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here