Wednesday, May 29, 2024
    HomeHyderabadEC announces schedule for two council elections under MLA quota in Hyderabad

    EC announces schedule for two council elections under MLA quota in Hyderabad

    Related stories

    Congress gains control of civic bodies led by BRS

    Since the Congress government took control in Telangana in...

    KTR condemns lathi-charge on farmers

    KT Rama Rao, the working president of BRS, strongly...

    Congress calls for motion to censure KCR, KTR, and Harish Rao

    In Hyderabad, the Congress party is calling for a...

    Consider NOTA as a fictional candidate in elections: FGG

    The Forum for Good Governance (FGG) in Hyderabad is...

    The Election Commission of India has announced that the election for two Legislative Council seats under the MLA quota will be held on January 29. The process will start with the release of the notification on January 11, followed by the filing of nominations until January 18. The scrutiny of nominations will take place on January 19, and candidates can withdraw their candidature until January 22. The polling will be conducted on January 29 from 9 am to 4 pm, with results being announced on the same day.

    These two MLC seats became vacant after the resignations of Kadiyam Srihari and Kaushik Reddy, who were elected to the Assembly from Station Ghanpur and Huzurabad respectively in the recent Assembly elections. The Congress and the BRS are expected to each get one seat based on their strength in the Assembly. The Congress party, with 64 members in the Assembly, is likely to secure one seat easily. The BRS would also get one seat but would require support from the AIMIM. The election process may become more interesting if the Congress party decides to field candidates for the second seat. The role of AIMIM and BJP, who have seven and eight seats respectively, will be crucial in the election.

    - Advertisement -
    Also read:  Bomb Threat at Deputy CM's Residence and Nampally Courts in Hyderabad

    In addition to the MLA quota, two more seats under the Governor’s quota are pending. The BRS had recommended the names of D Sravan and Kurra Satyanarayana, but they were rejected by the Governor. The BRS has approached the High Court regarding this matter, and the cases are scheduled to be heard on Friday.

    - Advertisement -

    Follow us


    Contribute News

    You can contribute an article to Telangana Tribune by dropping a mail at

    Latest stories


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here