Thursday, October 5, 2023
    HomeHyderabadKhairtabad braces for triangular battle between BRS, BJP, and Congress

    Khairtabad braces for triangular battle between BRS, BJP, and Congress

    Related stories

    Warangal Public Meeting on Oct 16 to Reveal BRS Mega Manifesto

    The BRS is preparing for a huge public meeting...

    Krishna Water Disputes Tribunal Terms of Reference Approved by Cabinet

    The Union Cabinet chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi has approved the issue of further Terms of Reference (ToR) to the existing Krishna Water Disputes Tribunal-II (KWDT-II) under section 5(1) of the ISRWD Act for its adjudication between the States of Telangana and Andhra Pradesh (AP).
    - Advertisement -

    The Khairtabad Assembly constituency in Hyderabad has historically been a stronghold of the Congress party. The current MLA is DanamNagender, who was previously associated with Congress but later joined BRS. In the upcoming elections, BRS, BJP, and Congress are expected to compete fiercely for the seat.

    Khairtabad is unique because it has a diverse population, including both affluent and economically disadvantaged residents, as well as voters from Telangana and Andhra Pradesh States. It is also home to important institutions like the Telangana State assembly, Secretariat, and Raj Bhavan. Before 2009, Khairtabad had the largest voter base in the State along with Jubilee Hills.

    - Advertisement -

    The constituency has over 2.68 lakh voters and includes areas like Khairtabad, Narayanguda, Hyderguda, Himayatnagar, Lakdi ka pul, Somajiguda, Punjagutta, Raj Bhavan Road, Banjara Hills, Basheerbagh, King Koti, and Chintal Basti.

    According to political analysts, the BJP is targeting this constituency and putting in a lot of effort to win it from BRS. BJP’s C Ramachandra Reddy, who won the seat in 2014, holds a strong position as he has been a member of BJP for decades.

    - Advertisement -

    DanamNagender also has a strong position in the constituency. He was elected as MLA from Asifnagar assembly constituency multiple times and won the Khairtabad seat in 2009.

    In the last two Assembly elections, BJP’s C Ramachandra Reddy won the seat in 2014, while DanamNagender won with BRS ticket in 2018. In the upcoming elections, there are at least three contenders for the BJP ticket in Khairtabad. Former MLA Chintala Ramachandra Reddy, OBC leader Pallapu Govardhan, and Indrasena Reddy, son of Justice Subhashan Reddy, are all vying for the ticket.

    On the other hand, P Vijaya Reddy from INC, who is the daughter of Congress Legislative Party leader P Janardhan Reddy, is also eyeing the seat after joining Congress from BRS. She believes Congress will provide her with the right platform to showcase her talent and power.

    These are the key details about the upcoming elections in Khairtabad assembly constituency.

    - Advertisement -

    Follow us


    Contribute News

    You can contribute an article to Telangana Tribune by dropping a mail at

    Latest stories


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here