Friday, September 22, 2023
    HomeNationalParliament should decide on same-sex marriage issue: New Delhi

    Parliament should decide on same-sex marriage issue: New Delhi

    Related stories

    Morning walkers in Hyderabad upset by illegal parking at Public Garden

    Once again, the Public Garden in Hyderabad is causing...

    Zero cut-off set for NEET PG examination

    The Ministry of Health and Family Welfare (MoHFW) has...

    P-8I’s Aatmanirbhar Bharat Future Outlined by Boeing

    Boeing [NYSE: BA] today highlighted the substantial indigenization achieved in the manufacturing and sustainment of its P-8I maritime surveillance aircraft and briefed media on the outlook for the platform, suggesting an increase in investment and economic impact as part of its Aatmanirbhar Bharat strategy.
    - Advertisement -

    The Indian government has asked the Supreme Court to let Parliament decide on legalizing same-sex marriage, arguing that it is a complex issue with significant social impact. The Centre said the process would require examining 160 different laws and would be a “humongous exercise” even for Parliament. They argued that the judiciary is not empowered to do so. The government submitted that the question of what constitutes marriage and between whom should be decided by Parliament, civil society groups, and state legislatures.

    The Solicitor General argued that marriage is a socio-legal institution and its recognition is a matter of legislative policy decisions. He also pointed out that, while marriage is a personal affair, legislatures intervene to decide various modalities such as age and grounds of divorce. The Supreme Court observed that judges do not legislate and expressed reservations about citing a verdict of the US Supreme Court to support the argument against judiciary intervention.

    - Advertisement -

    The Centre urged the five-judge Constitution bench not to grant same-sex couples the right to marry, stressing the need for broader societal debate on the issue. The bench included Chief Justice D Y Chandrachud, justices S K Kaul, S R Bhat, Hima Kohli, and P S Narasimha.

    - Advertisement -

    Follow us


    Contribute News

    You can contribute an article to Telangana Tribune by dropping a mail at

    Latest stories


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here