Sunday, July 14, 2024
    HomeHyderabadA Nostalgic Journey: Reminiscing Hyderabad's First General Election

    A Nostalgic Journey: Reminiscing Hyderabad’s First General Election

    Related stories

    Revanth Reddy engages in quality engineering education program, pledges government backing

    Telangana Chief Minister Revanth Reddy recently announced government support...

    BJP Unveils 1,500-Day Strategy to Become Top in TG

    The 2024 Parliament election results have changed the perception...

    Bandi challenges Rahul to visit OU and speak with the unemployed

    BJP national general secretary Bandi Sanjay Kumar challenged Congress...

    In the history of India, the merger of Hyderabad into the Indian Union on September 17, 1948, was a significant event. It marked the end of an era and the start of a new democratic chapter. On March 27, 1952, the residents of Hyderabad State exercised their right to vote for the first time and elected their own representatives.
    During the early years of Indian democracy, the people of Hyderabad showed resilience and determination. They traveled to the polling stations in unique ways, such as riding bullock carts or walking barefoot. The Congress party aimed to establish a strong presence in the region by contesting 173 out of 175 seats. However, they faced challenges from the communist movement, which had gained popularity among the rural population due to their support for land reforms and the rights of landless laborers.
    In districts like Nalgonda, Khammam, Warangal, and Karimnagar, the People’s Democratic Front (PDF) emerged as a dominant force in the Assembly elections. They won several seats and showcased their political strength and influence. For example, PDF won all 14 seats in Nalgonda and secured victory in nine out of 14 seats in Warangal. In Karimnagar, they managed to secure seven out of 15 seats. The Congress party also had success in areas with Kannada and Marathi-speaking populations.
    Overall, the Congress party won a majority in the elections, claiming 93 out of 173 contested seats with a 41.86% share of the popular vote. This gave them the opportunity to form the government. The PDF became the principal opposition party with 42 seats and a 20.76% vote share.

    Also read:  Kishan Reddy Joins Balkampet Ellamma Ammavari Kalyanam Celebrations Kick Off
    - Advertisement -

    Follow us


    Contribute News

    You can contribute an article to Telangana Tribune by dropping a mail at

    Latest stories


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here