Sunday, May 26, 2024
    HomeTelanganaDespite urban apathy, Warangal sees 64% voter turnout

    Despite urban apathy, Warangal sees 64% voter turnout

    Related stories

    In the election for the Warangal Lok Sabha (SC Reserved) seat, urban voters did not show much interest in voting despite efforts to increase turnout. The voter turnout was 64.08%, with Warangal West Assembly having the lowest percentage at 47%. Ghanpur segment had the highest turnout at 74.64%, followed by Parkal at 70.20%. Other segments like Palakurthi (68.41%), Warangal East (59.43%), Wardhannapet (66.43%), and Bhupalpally (65%) also had varying percentages.

    The voter turnout for the Warangal Lok Sabha seat on Monday was similar to previous elections, with turnout percentages of 60 in 2019, 68.50 in the 2015 by-poll, 78.54 in 2014, 69.32 in 2009, 75.90 in 2004, and 75.50 in 1999. Compared to the Assembly polls in 2013, all seven segments saw lower voter turnout. The candidates in the triangular contest for the Warangal Lok Sabha seat are Dr Kadiyam Kavya (Congress), Aroori Ramesh (BJP), and Dr M Sudheer Kumar (BRS).

    - Advertisement -
    Also read:  Graduates in MLC poll are showered with cash

    In the Mahabubabad Lok Sabha constituency, the voter turnout was 68.60% by 5 pm. The segment-wise voting percentages were Narsampet (73.01%), Dornakal (70.86%), Yellandu (69.11%), Mulugu (67.92%), Mahabubabad (67.19%), Pinapaka (65.91%), and Bhadrachalam (64.72%). The prominent party candidates for the Mahabubabad Lok Sabha seat are P Balaram Naik (Congress), Azmeera Sitaram Naik (BJP), and Maloth Kavitha (BRS). Despite a few complaints about nonfunctioning EVMs, the polling was peaceful.

    - Advertisement -
    Rajesh M
    Rajesh M
    Latest News from Hyderabad, Telangana, India & World!

    Follow us


    Contribute News

    You can contribute an article to Telangana Tribune by dropping a mail at

    Latest stories


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here