Thursday, June 20, 2024
    HomeWorldGreece's Election: Five Key Points to Consider

    Greece’s Election: Five Key Points to Consider

    Related stories

    19 IAS officers shuffled by the Andhra Pradesh Government

    The 19 IAS officers were transferred and allotted postings with immediate effect

    Collector urged to enhance seats in KG BV schools for poor people

    In Jogulamba Gadwal district, the Kasturba Gandhi Balika Vidyalaya...

    Bhadradri collector instructs officials to focus on flood-prone areas

    District Collector Jitesh V Patil visited flooded areas in...

    Program Inaugurated in Bhadrachalam to Commemorate World Sickle Cell Anemia Day

    A special program was inaugurated in Bhadrachalam on World...

    Greece’s Prime Minister, Kyriakos Mitsotakis, and his conservative party, New Democracy, won a big victory in the country’s elections. However, they didn’t win enough seats to form a government. This means there will be another election in a month. Here are five important things to know about the election:

    1. New Democracy won 40.79% of the vote, beating the leftist Syriza party by over 20 points. This is New Democracy’s best result since 2007.

    - Advertisement -

    2. Under Greece’s proportional representation system, New Democracy won 146 seats in the 300-deputy parliament. This is five seats short of a majority.

    3. The former Prime Minister, Alexis Tsipras, lost his fourth straight election to Mitsotakis. His party, Syriza, lost 600,000 votes compared to the last election.

    - Advertisement -
    Also read:  Jagadish refutes claim of Rs 6K-cr loss in power deal as false

    4. Many people were worried that there would be low voter turnout, but in the end, nearly 61% of Greeks voted.

    5. Despite recent scandals and criticism of the ruling party, conservative voters forgave Mitsotakis and re-elected his transport minister. Surprisingly, a third of young voters (aged 17-24) also sided with the conservatives.

    - Advertisement -

    The new election will be held on June 25 and will have different rules that give bonus seats to the winner.

    - Advertisement -

    Follow us


    Contribute News

    You can contribute an article to Telangana Tribune by dropping a mail at

    Latest stories


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here