Thursday, May 23, 2024
    HomeHyderabadResidents in certain areas of Old City are in a frenzy over...

    Residents in certain areas of Old City are in a frenzy over polling booth locations.

    Related stories

    Vote counting for LS election in Khammam: All arrangements set

    The counting of Lok Sabha votes will take place...

    Sajjala, YSRCP spokesperson, urges ECI to ensure impartial handling of irregularities

    YSRCP asks why ECI was not releasing the video footage of all seven instances of EVM damages.

    Javeed predicts Mallanna will win by a large margin in MLC by-election

    Khammam City Congress president Mohammad Javed expressed confidence that...

    CM Revanth calls on party members to secure win in MLC by-election

    Hyderabad: Chief Minister A Revanth Reddy is urging party...

    Some voters in Old City are unsure about which Lok Sabha constituency their vote falls under, as they are located near the border of Hyderabad and Secunderabad segments. The confusion is worsened by the lack of voter slips being distributed by GHMC staff. Activists are calling for election authorities to educate voters before the elections.

    Traditionally AIMIM supporters in these areas are also unsure about whom to vote for, adding to the confusion. Each Lok Sabha constituency consists of seven assembly constituencies, with Hyderabad including Karwan, Malakpet, Goshamahal, Charminar, Chandrayangutta, Yakutpura, and Bahadurpura; and Secunderabad including Nampally, Musheerabad, Amberpet, Khairtabad, Jubilee Hills, Sanath Nagar, and Secunderabad.

    - Advertisement -
    Also read:  Mathademia- 24 organized by MATH in Hyderabad

    Despite Nampally being separated from Asif Nagar Assembly constituency in 2009, some voters in Nampally and Tolichowki are still unsure about their Lok Sabha segment. Activists are working to raise awareness among voters in these areas about which segment they fall under.

    There is confusion among voters in areas like Murad Nagar, Zeba Bagh, Asif Nagar, Syed Ali Guda, Sabir Nagar, Alapati Nagar, Dilshad Nagar, Mallepally, Bazar Ghat, Habeeb Nagar, and Agha Pura about whether they fall under Hyderabad or Secunderabad. Efforts are being made to inform voters through social media and other means.

    - Advertisement -

    Residents like Mohammed Majid Ali from Asif Nagar are realizing that their traditional votes for MIM may actually belong to the Nampally segment of Secunderabad. Similarly, parts of Tolichowki fall under different assembly constituencies, leading to confusion among voters.

    Also read:  Harish Rao denounces purported assault on BRS mayor and corporators

    Political analyst Asif Hussain Sohail emphasizes the importance of election authorities addressing these issues to help voters understand which segment their vote falls under. Voter education is crucial in ensuring that all voters are aware of where their vote counts in the Lok Sabha elections.

    - Advertisement -

    Follow us


    Contribute News

    You can contribute an article to Telangana Tribune by dropping a mail at

    Latest stories


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here