Saturday, May 25, 2024
    HomeHyderabadSenior Congress leaders vying for Lok Sabha tickets

    Senior Congress leaders vying for Lok Sabha tickets

    Related stories

    Farmers in Gadwal demand government intervention to address counterfeit seed sales

    Farmers in the Nadigadda region are facing challenges because...

    Can counterfeit seeds be eliminated to protect farmers?

    The farmers in Nadigadda region are facing various problems...

    Confusion over counting as AP receives record 5,39,189 postal ballots

    The ECI has started counting arrangements for the record number of 5,39,189 postal ballot votes in Andhra Pradesh.

    The Chief Minister of Hyderabad, A Revanth Reddy, has announced that the Lok Sabha poll campaign will begin on February 2. Many senior members of the party are now looking for tickets to run in the elections. Although the Pradesh Election Committee has given authority to the high command to finalize candidates for the 17 segments, there is still intense competition and lobbying happening at different levels that may influence the decision-making process.

    One of the most fiercely contested segments within the party is the Khammam seat, with many senior members vying for it. Former MPs V Hanumantha Rao and Renuka Chaudhury have expressed their interest in running for this constituency, which borders Andhra Pradesh and could have a significant impact on the polls in AP. Other party members, such as Deputy CM Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka, Revenue Minister Ponguleti Srinivas Reddy, and Agriculture Minister Tummala Nageswara Rao, are trying to secure tickets for their family members.

    - Advertisement -
    Also read:  Dr. Priyanka Ala, Election Officer and Collector, inspects by-election distribution center for Legislative Council Graduates

    In the Malkajgiri constituency, which was previously represented by Revanth Reddy, leaders from the Reddy community are competing for the ticket. Mynampally Hanumantha Rao, who lost in the Assembly polls, is lobbying for a ticket. Narsareddy Bhoopathi Reddy, the party’s Qutbullapur in-charge & PCC general secretary, and Singireddy Hari Vardhan Reddy, the DCC president of Medchal-Malkajgiri & PCC senior official spokesperson, are also in the running. Actor-politician Vijayashanti aims to contest from Medak, while former MLA T Jagga Reddy is pushing for his wife Nirmala’s candidature in Medak.

    For the Nagarkurnool seat, S A Sampath Kumar, the former MLA from Alampur, is considered a top contender. However, Mallu Ravi, who was appointed as the special representative of the government in Delhi, has also decided to compete. Mallu Ravi’s son, Mallu Siddharth, submitted an application on his behalf in Gandhi Bhavan.

    - Advertisement -
    Also read:  Health Minister Damodara Rajanarsimha orders TMSIDC to investigate power outage at MGM hospital

    Some of the top leaders whose names are being mentioned include former minister K Jana Reddy or his son K Raghuveer Reddy for Nalgonda, and AICC leader and former MLA Vamsi Chand Reddy for Mahbubnagar. Minister N Uttam Kumar Reddy is said to be lobbying for Patel Ramesh Reddy in Nalgonda, who was unable to secure an MLA ticket. Bhongir has contenders such as PCC leader Chamala Kiran Kumar Reddy and Komatireddy Venkat Reddy’s wife Laxmi. In Chevella, Badangpet Mayor Ch Parijatha Narsimha Reddy and former Medchal MLA K Laxma Reddy are aiming for tickets.

    - Advertisement -

    Follow us


    Contribute News

    You can contribute an article to Telangana Tribune by dropping a mail at

    Latest stories


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here