Monday, May 27, 2024
    HomeHyderabadToday marks the commencement of the first session of the 3rd Assembly.

    Today marks the commencement of the first session of the 3rd Assembly.

    Related stories

    Uttam vows to turn Hyderabad into a global investment hub

    Hyderabad's Civil Supplies and Irrigation Minister, Uttam Kumar Reddy,...

    The first session of the third Assembly in Telangana will start at 11 am on Saturday. The newly-elected legislators will take an oath during this session. Akbaruddin Owaisi, an AIMIM legislator, has been named as the pro tem Speaker by the Governor to administer the oath to all the elected MLAs. However, the BJP is not happy with this selection and has threatened to boycott the session if Akbaruddin is the pro tem Speaker. BJP MLA Raja Singh stated that they cannot take the oath if Akbaruddin is in the chair due to his objectionable comments against Hindus.

    The session is expected to last for about three days. During this time, the Speaker and Deputy Speaker will be elected and other session-related matters will be finalized. G Prasad Rao, a Congress MLA from Vikarabad, has been nominated for the post of Speaker. Chief Minister A Revanth Reddy will also address the newly-elected Assembly.

    - Advertisement -
    Also read:  Revanth Reddy praises Buddha teachings during visit to Maha Buddha Vihar

    Several resolutions will be adopted on various issues and the implementation of Congress’ election promises. To ensure public order, Hyderabad Commissioner of Police Sandeep Shandilya has issued an order prohibiting any assembly or public meeting within a 4km radius of the Telangana Legislative Assembly. This prohibition will be in effect from 6 am on Saturday until the conclusion of the Assembly and Council sessions.

    - Advertisement -

    Follow us


    Contribute News

    You can contribute an article to Telangana Tribune by dropping a mail at

    Latest stories


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here