Saturday, July 20, 2024
    HomeTelanganaTriangular Contest Awaits Khairatabad in Battle Ground

    Triangular Contest Awaits Khairatabad in Battle Ground

    Related stories

    Job Fair Scheduled for the 22nd of This Month

    Gadwal: District Employment Officer Dr. Priyanka Gadwal announced that...

    BJP District Executive Committee Convenes in Gadwal

    The BJP district executive meeting was held today at...

    CM Chandrababu reviews relief measures as heavy rains hit Andhra Pradesh due to low-pressure system in Bay of Bengal

    Andhra Pradesh CM Chandrababu Naidu held a video conference with officials to review the situation and directed them to take necessary steps to prevent loss of life and property.

    Khairatabad, an important Assembly constituency in Hyderabad, will have a three-way competition between the BRS, Congress, and BJP. Danam Nagender from BRS, P Vijaya Reddy from Congress, and Chintala Ramchandra Reddy from BJP are the main contenders. Khairatabad is a part of the Secunderabad Lok Sabha constituency and has a total of 282,101 voters, including 134,862 women. The constituency has a diverse population with migrants from Andhra Pradesh and a mix of both rich and slum dwellers.

    There is an interesting contest for the Congress ticket in this Assembly election. Vijaya Reddy, the daughter of the late P Janardhan Reddy, a prominent leader of Congress, is likely to be fielded. However, her chances may be affected by her history of switching parties. She joined Congress last year after leaving TRS and contested from YSRCP in 2014. Another contender for the ticket is Rohin Reddy, the Khairatabad unit president.

    - Advertisement -
    Also read:  Farm loan waiver celebrations planned

    Chintala Ramchandra Reddy, a former MLA and senior member of BJP, is expected to be given another chance to win back the seat. Despite competition from other party members like Pallapu Govardhan, analysts believe Reddy is the best option to defeat Nagender. In the 2014 election, Ramachandra defeated Nagender by over 20,000 votes and received 37.3% of the vote share.

    In 2018, Nagender, who had joined TRS by then, secured the highest vote share of 44.56% and defeated Chintala by over 28,000 votes. Dasoju Sravan Kumar from Congress was the third candidate with 33,549 votes. Sravan later joined BRS and is set to become an MLC under the Governor’s quota.

    - Advertisement -
    Also read:  Forensic accounting training begins at IRIFM

    Khairatabad constituency includes wealthy neighborhoods like Jubilee Hills, Banjara Hills, Raj Bhavan Road, Punjagutta, Somajiguda, Lakdikapul, Himayatnagar, Hyderguda, and Narayanguda, in addition to Khairatabad itself.

    - Advertisement -
    Rajesh M
    Rajesh M
    Latest News from Hyderabad, Telangana, India & World!

    Follow us


    Contribute News

    You can contribute an article to Telangana Tribune by dropping a mail at

    Latest stories


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here