Tuesday, May 28, 2024
    HomeNationalRaghav Chadha suspended by Rajya Sabha over signature forgery allegations

    Raghav Chadha suspended by Rajya Sabha over signature forgery allegations

    Related stories

    Bandi Sanjay declares phone tapping case in Telangana more serious than emergency

    BJP national general secretary and MP Bandi Sanjay Kumar...

    Advanced supplementary exams for SSC to be held from June 3

    The Director of Government Examinations in Telangana announced that...

    Raghav Chadha, a member of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), has been suspended from the Rajya Sabha. The suspension will remain in effect until the Committee of Privileges submits its report on the case against him. Piyush Goyal introduced the motion for suspension, alleging that Chadha’s actions were unethical. Goyal accused Chadha of breaching privilege and behaving in a manner unbecoming of a Member of Parliament. Goyal clarified that Chadha falsely claimed his colleague Sanjay Singh was suspended for asking questions, when in fact Singh was suspended for indecent behavior.

    According to Piyush Goyal, Raghav Chadha later left the House and claimed he had not done anything illegal. He also continued to tweet about the situation. Chadha’s suspension will continue until the breach of privilege report is received.

    - Advertisement -
    Also read:  Family injured in collision between car and lorry in Dhone

    Goyal also condemned Sanjay Singh’s actions, stating that even after his suspension, Singh continued to sit in the House, leading to the postponement of sessions. Goyal found this disrespectful to the chair. Singh has disrupted House proceedings by moving towards the Well 56 times. Singh will remain suspended until the Rajya Sabha Committee on Privileges completes its investigation.

    During the discussion on the Government of the National Capital Territory of Delhi (Amendment) Bill in the Rajya Sabha, Raghav Chadha is accused of proposing the formation of a select committee without obtaining consent from four MPs. The names of Sasmit Patra, S. Phangnon Konyak, M. Thambidurai, and Narhari Amin were included in the committee without their agreement. These members have lodged complaints against Chadha, alleging breach of privilege and violation of procedure and rules by including their names without consent in a resolution dated August 7.

    - Advertisement -
    Also read:  Karunakar Reddy calls for saving the River Krishna

    Raghav Chadha, however, disputes these charges and argues that an MP can propose any committee without needing the signature or written consent of the individuals involved.

    - Advertisement -

    Follow us


    Contribute News

    You can contribute an article to Telangana Tribune by dropping a mail at newsdesk@telanganatribune.com

    Latest stories


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here